Skip to content

“Promise of Restoration” guest post by Shaleen

July 17, 2010
“This was the verse of the day that popped up on my cell phone July 14, 2010, you’ll see why.
Jeremiah 33
Promise of Restoration
2 “This is what the LORD says, He who made the earth, the LORD who formed it and established it—the LORD is his name: 3 ‘Call to Me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’ 
6 ” ‘Nevertheless, I will bring health and healing to it; I will heal my people and will let them enjoy abundant peace and security. 7 I will bring Judah and Israel back from captivity and will rebuild them as they were before. 8 I will cleanse them from all the sin they have committed against me and will forgive all their sins of rebellion against me. 9 Then this city will bring me renown, joy, praise and honor before all nations on earth that hear of all the good things I do for it; and they will be in awe and will tremble at the abundant prosperity and peace I provide for it…”   11b  “…Give thanks to the LORD Almighty,
for the LORD is good;.his love endures forever.”
OUR DAUGHTER
BORN JULY 14, 20101:33 am, 5lb 6oz18in long
In our ARMS 8:00pm July 14, 2010

Tuesday night July 13 Sam and I couldn’t fall asleep so we sat up talking about what we thought God might be up to with growing our family. We laid in bed that night and prayed for our child – who we KNEW was out there, but we had no idea on which continent or at what stage of life they were in.  We prayed for our child and the courageous and radiant woman who was carrying them.  We prayed and prayed for both of them…then fell asleep….

what we could not see and what we did not know – was that the very hour we prayed, L’s birth mom was in labor; she was surrounded by Jesus and His Angels  bringing her into this world.

Wednesday July 14, 2010

6:45am  …we woke up to my cell phone singing the HALLELUJAH CHORUS! – (this is the ring tone I have attached to everyone involved in the orchestra that may bring our child to us.)

A child has been born and one of our adoption angels is wondering if we are interested in being presented to her birth mom?
7:30am Sam and I pray and respond with a resounding YES YES YES!
Then we wait and we pray!  We did not know what exactly we were saying YES TO!  These were possibly some of the longest hours of my life!
1:45pm – HALLELUJAH CHOURUS SINGS FROM MY CELL PHONE – the angel on the other end of the line starts singing the same chorus since she knows its my ringtone – she says – what a fitting chorus as I am calling to tell you: YOU HAVE BEEN CHOSEN!

Not because we deserve a thing!  And not because we are good, we have been chosen for no other reason than GOD HAS CHOSEN TO LAVISH HIS GRACE ON US THROUGH HIS CHILD!
WE have been chosen by the GOD OF THE UNIVERSE and by her birth mother to be entrusted with this treasure as her mama and daddy forever.
3:30pm – We arrive at the airport in less than 2 hours after receiving the call saying our child has been born and is waiting for us!
5:00pm – We board our plane to take us to our daughter!
7:30pm – we land and sprint to get a car – never has a trip gone so smooth for us!  Our bags were the first off the plane and our car is in the front row as we exit the airport!  Our case-worker has met us there and takes us to our baby girl!
8:00pm ON HER BIRTHDAY – we walk in her hospital room.  She is wide awake as we take her in our arms for the first time.  She looks at me and I get to gaze at her!  We get the great honor of embracing her birth mom and sitting with them for hours.  She is an incredible woman.
12:45pm – THURSDAY JULY 15, 2010 – all papers have been signed and our daughter is placed in our arms for eternity!

“L” has been grafted into our family for eternity – in the same way we have been grafted into God’s Family as HIS sons/daughters for eternity – she is ONE OF OUR OWN!
EPHESIANS 1
“For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight.
In love 5he predestined us to be adopted as his sons [and daughters] through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will—
6to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One He loves. 7In Him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace 8that He lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.

GOD’S FINGERPRINT (and fun facts):
OCTOER 20, 2009 Sam and I are OFFICIAL in adopting; our dossier is shipped to Ethiopia. This was the same time-frame Layla’s birth mom conceived her!  9 months later our baby girl is born.
MAY 2010 I become incredibly agitated (ask anyone- I was going bonkers!) about Ethiopia.  I was going nutty – I started looking into domestic adoptions because “something just didn’t feel right”.  This was the same month Laya’s birth mom decided in certainty to place Layla up for adoption.
JUNE 13 2010–I feel like I was “home” when I found our adoption angel – Tracie Loux (from Christian Adoption Consultants).   I spoke to her on the phone that day and was for the first time in our adoption journey at TOTAL PEACE (I did not know if that meant God was bringing peace to our Ethiopian process or if He was hijacking Ethiopia and making a U-turn back to the GOOD OLD U.S. of A. GOD BLESS AMERICA!)  She helped walk us through each step of this journey domestically.

JULY 7 2010 – I emerge from the MOUNTAIN of adoption paperwork – I felt an urgency I could not explain so I over-nighted our paperwork to one of the agencies.  The other packets for the other agencies I sent regular mail for some reason.

JULY 14 2010– The social worker from that agency (another of our adoption angels), calls to tell us our baby girl had been born!  AND SHE WAS IN OUR ARMS THAT DAY!”

Thank you Shaleen for sharing your story with all of us!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2010 2:28 am

    love it!! glorious way to see God working in people’s lives!! 🙂 thanks for sharing!

  2. July 17, 2010 2:43 am

    Amazing. Truly beautiful!

  3. July 19, 2010 10:22 pm

    Beautiful–beautiful story of God’s working. Beautiful little girl. Praying His blessings over all of this little girl’s family.

  4. Erin B permalink
    July 23, 2010 7:27 pm

    As a fellow parent of a last minute adoption, I can relate to everything that you put in your story. I had flashbacks to our “Your baby is waiting for you” call and the excitement and craziness of rushing to meet him. (It happened for us in March). And many thanks to the lovely Tracie for supporting the adoptive families so well! I sometimes think that the adoption teams are so focused on the matching stage of the adoption versus the adoptive family’s well-being prior to a match. But Tracie ensures that your spirits are up even when you don’t think you can get them up. Hope and faith are amazing things!

    Congrats to the lucky parents of a beautiful little girl and thanks, Tracie for all you do!!!!!!

  5. Stacia permalink
    February 22, 2011 8:40 pm

    This is such a beautiful story for a beautiful family! I’m in tears!!! Our God is GOOD!

  6. March 8, 2011 9:52 pm

    What a testimony of His enduring goodness! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

