Skip to content

“Mother’s Day Finds Some Waiting” by Hayley

May 8, 2011

Another guest post by my friend and client Hayley

Mother’s Day finds some waiting. Waiting for dreams, arms and cribs to be filled. Waiting to know when your new bundle of joy will find you and what your new family will look like. Last year, I found my heart in this situation. My husband and I felt strongly that the Lord had called our family to adoption. We were willing and excited to see what God had planned for our journey. We said ‘Yes!’ to many situations and prayed fervently for many birth moms. Yet, we continued to hear ‘I am so sorry, but she has selected another family’ over and over again. Each ‘No’ was very difficult. We wondered what was wrong with us? What was wrong with our profile? Isn’t this what we were suppose to be pursuing?

We prayed. And with each situation that was not ours, we would say ‘God knows. ‘ He knows the exact child He has planned for us and He knows the exact time for us to be brought together. And after showing our profile 21 times, 2 babies that were ours and then ended up not working out and 10 months of waiting, we got our ‘Yes!’ She has brought us such joy and blessed us more than I ever could have imagined in all those hard days of waiting. God had her planned for our family from the beginning of time!

So to those of you spending this Mother’s Day waiting, I have a few words for you. Don’t give up! Our God is great and knows your heart. He knows your desires and will provide in His perfect timing. When you hear a ‘No”, choose to hear the Lord saying, ‘I have something else planned for you.’ (1 Chronicles 16:11) Don’t allow waiting to become an idol. Desiring to adopt is a good thing. Don’t allow the phone calls, emails and longing for a baby to overshadow the deep love of our Father. (1 John 5:20-21) Keep praying! Pray for the birth moms. Every time you show your profile, you are telling that birth mom that her baby is loved and wanted. Pray for the child and the families who will parent that child. Pray for the child that will join your family and the birth mom who will forever change your heart. Keep praying. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

So on this Mother’s Day of waiting, rejoice in the Father who sent His Son to redeem us into His family. He is our Father, who makes us sons and daughters of His very own. (Psalm 46:10)

Love,

Hayley

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 11:15 pm

    I can’t thank you enough for your comforting words. May I have your permission to copy your post? I felt as if no one understood what I was going through until I read what you wrote. You understood. And I wasn’t the only one with these feelings . You felt exactly as I have many times over. Thank you so much! And Happy Mother’s Day!

    • tracieloux permalink*
      May 10, 2011 2:17 am

      Of course, just please credit the author and the blog. 🙂

  2. May 9, 2011 1:49 am

    Yes! Although the wait is very trying, when you hold your precious child in your arms, no matter how many years it took to get to that point, the wait seems like nothing. Do not give up. God is so faithful!

    • May 10, 2011 3:07 am

      I wouldn’t do it any other way! After writing my dissertation, I got it down pat with giving credits to those who taught me well!

Trackbacks

  1. Waiting « The Spirit of Adoption

Leave a Reply

