Skip to content

Congratulations Joshua and Katie

August 26, 2012

There are times in this journey of walking families through adoptions that the Lord simply blows my mind. I know that He is good, I know that His ways are perfect, but there are times when the road is hard. I walk my families through the good, the hard, the painful, and the miraculous.

Joshua and Katie came to me with hearts wide open to the Lord and all that He was leading them into regarding adoption. They started with CAC in September of 2011 totally at square one. They worked diligently on their home study, began fundraising, and were ready to apply to agencies in late May. The first week in August they were matched with a birthmom. Last week they received some disappointing, hard news about their adoption, and had to make the very difficult and incredibly painful decision not to move forward with this match. They had already purchased plane tickets to fly out and meet this birthmom, so they decided to go anyway, feeling that they could use a few days away as a couple to talk, to heal, and to pray through this loss.

So they got on a plane.

On the day they were supposed to fly home, I got a call. A birthmom was in labor, in the same state, just 3 hours away from them and she wanted a family who would adopt her son.

I said, “Katie, where are you guys?”

Her reply, “Oh Josh and I are getting coffee and then we’re headed toward the airport. Our flight leaves in 4 hours.”

I said, “Katie there is a birthmom in labor 3 hours from you, she’s having a boy, and I need to know if we can show her your profile.”

Tearfully with several squeals and exclamations of disbelief, Katie and Josh say loudly and clearly, “YES!”

Katie later told me that minutes before my call she had said to Josh, “Why are we even here? Why did we come down?”

Moments later the social worker called the birthmom back, emailed Josh and Katie’s profile to her phone, shared a little of Josh and Katie’s story, and the birthmom said, “I love them! Tell them to put a smile on their faces, and get over here to meet their son!”

So Josh and Katie got in a car and drove to the hospital. They arrived shortly after their sweet son had been born.

I pray for all of my clients. I care deeply about each of them and the journey the Lord has them on. When Josh and Katie left for this time away, I talked to the Lord and just kind of “suggested” that it might be absolutely amazing if there was a baby born that needed a family while Josh and Katie were there. I reminded Him every day that I thought it would be a good idea.

The morning their son was born I began praying Psalm 103 over Josh and Katie’s lives. Declaring that God is good, that He redeems, that He gives us good things. He is gracious and compassionate, so rich in love.

And I am singing this today as I rejoice in my spirit at the goodness of the Father.

“The Lord is gracious and compassionate
Slow to anger and rich in love
The Lord is gracious and compassionate
Slow to anger and rich in love

And the Lord is good to all
He has compassion in all that He has made
As far as the east is from the west
That’s how far He has removed our transgressions from us

Praise the Lord, oh my soul
Praise the Lord
Praise the Lord, oh my soul
Praise the Lord”

Psalm 103

For more information about our services please email me at tracie@christianadoptionconsultants.com

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Kiersten permalink
    August 26, 2012 11:33 pm

    It’s a good thing my typing teacher made us practice without looking because I can’t see the keys through the tears. What an amazing blessing! God is so good!

  2. susan permalink
    August 26, 2012 11:57 pm

    Ohh! Gave me goose bumps the whole time I was reading this story! GOD IS GOOD!!!!

  3. Jamie permalink
    August 27, 2012 12:53 am

    Oh my word.. Goosebumps everywhere 🙂
    Love job 42.2 and this is so clear in this situation too!! Thank you Jesus for You are SO good!!

  4. August 27, 2012 3:45 pm

    Reblogged this on Christian Adoption Consultants.

  5. kjoyfarrell permalink
    August 27, 2012 4:44 pm

    ohhhhhh tears!!! love it love it…beautiful baby…gorgeous family!!! Yeah Jesus!!!

  6. Janice Evans permalink
    August 27, 2012 5:28 pm

    I’m teared up. This is amazing. Oh the understanding of God’s plan, when you see it take shape, the sorrow is eclipsed by joy. 🙂

  7. Christina Müller permalink
    September 22, 2012 9:15 pm

    AMAZING!! What a testimony of GODs FAITHFULNESS!! GLORY and PRAISE to HIM!! HE is indeed RICH IN LOVE!!!

  8. October 28, 2012 4:30 am

    I just love the stories like this! And what a gorgeous little boy!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Home Sweet Home (part 2) « The Spirit of Adoption

Leave a Reply

