Skip to content

Congratulations Rick and Sylvia

May 11, 2013

IMG_5409

How about that for JOY!

942582_10151608588772451_1763980857_n

Happy Mother’s Day, Sylvia! You carried this little one well, my friend. For 9 months, you loved her, carried her and covered her with your prayers.

183085_10151609287617451_2136828664_n

And here she is. Beautiful. Perfect. Destined. Loved.

A little over a year ago, Rick and Sylvia contacted me with questions about adoption. In her first email to me, Sylvia wrote,

“We honestly are open to whatever God has for us in this journey. It is already a jouney for us of surrender, so it’s not like we are coming into it with a bunch of requirements, we simply want to follow Jesus through this process. We have heard adoption is COSTLY, TIME CONSUMING, and I think I have even heard Randy Bohlender say it’s HARD. We have not figured out how all those things are going to work out for us, but we believe that the Lord provides where He leads. We know He is faithful. As for the baby we are anticipating, I know that we “know in part and we prophesy in part” so I am holding loosely to what God has shown me in my dreams and in my heart. At the same time, I have had dreams about an African American baby girl and so have several of my children.
I am thinking that you will probably understand our journey more than most and hopefully be able to help us figure out how best to walk this out with the Lord.  I’m not saying we are way different than the average couple hoping to adopt, but I sure feel like we are! Maybe it’s our age, or maybe it’s that we already have a bunch of kids, but I sure feel like we are unlikely candidates who are saying yes because Jesus has asked us and because He is so incredibly amazing.”

And with that we started this journey together, asking Jesus to lead the way. Rick and Sylvia said, “yes” many times. I lost count.
But I assure you, every “yes” did count, because with every “yes,” this family prayed. Prayed for beautiful woman making life changing decisions, prayed for babies to be protected, loved and to find destiny.
And this was the YES, that was God’s YES.
Rick got a call on May 6th that they were matched with a baby that was already born. He called Sylvia who was at an airport returning home from a trip to a women’s retreat.
Two phone calls that changed their lives.
By May 7th, they were in the car driving to meet their daughter, the next day she was in their arms.
Later Sylvia shared with me that, after doing the math, they discovered that their daughter was delivered into this world 40 weeks after their home study was completed.
This precious family, Rick, Sylvia and all of their children, truly carried this little one in their hearts, with deep prayer and faith for what God had promised, from the moment of conception!
This is the email I sent to Sylvia just a week before this little one arrived:

“I’ve had you on my heart all week. I’m praying for you.

I have seen so many times where the Lord just keep holding off and holding off.
With no clear reason, until that reason is laying there in your arms.
Praying!”
If you would like more information on our services please email me at tracie@christianadoptionconsultants.com

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2013 2:54 pm

    Congratulations, Rick & Sylvia! I can’t wait to meet baby Shenoah! We just dedicated our adopted baby girl, Peyton, to the Lord on my very first Mother’s Day yesterday! God is so good!!!

    In Christ,
    LaDonna

  2. May 15, 2013 8:52 pm

    That beautiful baby is my newest grandchild, who joins Sylvia’s and Rick’s “bunch of kids”. I have many grandchildren, which makes me very wealthy. It’s wealth I hope will be in Heaven with me someday.

  3. Susie Weigel permalink
    May 15, 2013 11:52 pm

    Congratulations, Rick, Sylvia and family. I am so excited for you. We have a family in our church who adopted an African American girl, Olivia. If you go on our church website-Living Waters Church in Elk River MN you will see pics of her. She’s 3 now. The parents got that call, like you, and off they went to adopt her.

  4. Anita permalink
    May 16, 2013 2:05 pm

    Congratulations! She’s beautiful!!! I can’t wait to share this with my girls. I hope all the Rukavina Academy families get to see the pics too!

Leave a Reply

